Google announced in October 2011 that it would be closing the doors on its social networking tool, Google Buzz.
Users existing content was still available for access via Google Dashboard, downloading it using Google Takeout or viewing it on your Google Profile.
The company have released an email to former users notifying them that Buzz data will now be transferred to their Drive accounts in two types of files before the Buzz profiles are permanently deleted.
One is private, which will hold all posts both public and private, and another is public, for anyone to view your public posts with a direct link.
The email also states, “Any comments made on other users’ posts will only be saved to those users’ files and not to yours.”
Once the move is final, only the user will be able to alter sharing settings on the files meaning your comments could be shared publicly without your permission.
To avoid this, users are urged to delete all Buzz content before July 17th.
The move was made in order to focus instead on Google+ after the social networking site reached 25 million users in September 2011.